top of page
Search

The Day Before

Updated: Aug 25, 2022

The last week has been a hectic scramble to get everything ready in time for the trip. As I write this, it's 11:30 PM and almost everything is ready to go. I leave at 6:30 AM tomorrow morning where I will be traveling to Folsom, just past Sacramento. It will be the single longest ride I've ever done and it's right out of the gate without any significant training. I hear from just about everyone I talk to with cycle touring experience, that big days right out of the gate is really not the move, but as anyone who knows me will tell you, I'm known to be a little stubborn. We will soon see if I regret it.

Pictured above is all the gear I will be taking on the trip minus a couple things. Not pictured are the clothes I will be wearing day one, food, and water. I hope to do some videography while riding, so one of the more interesting pieces of gear I'm carrying is a DJI Mini 2 drone. I've been practicing with it, although not nearly enough. Hopefully two months of practice coming up will help.

Most of my gear was bought by me, but I have had a lot of help from friends and family getting everything together. The general rule of thumb I hear for bike touring is that you gather all your gear and then cut it in half and that's what you should actually bring... I have yet to do that second part so I think it's likely I'll be sending home some gear. I feel like I've done pretty good with not overpacking (I'm only carrying one pair of underwear,) but I'm sure that's what everyone else thought before they started sending things back as well...

All of the gear pictured, plus food and water gets crammed into those bags. Once it's on the bike, it looks like this...

Yes, all that gear fit into those bags. Despite their minimal look, my bike feels waayyy heavier and I was surprised at just how awkward it makes handling. I was buffeted by some winds earlier today and it nearly tipped the bike over since the bags can act as sails and create a lot of drag.

After Folsom, I will meet up with my parents once more in Tahoe. This trip having a chance at success is largely due to them, and I cannot express how thankful I am for all the work they have put into helping me make this trip happen. From coming up with great ideas for routes, to helping me with the GoFundMe for the San Lorenzo Druids, to helping me get my gear, to organizing a bon voyage party, to coming up with ideas for my jerseys and helping create them, and the list just goes on and on! They are just about the best parents you can ask for when it comes to supporting your cross country idea that not even you believed would actually happen. And yet here we are...

I would also like to thank all of the family and friends who have helped contribute to my trip. I will be riding with support from numerous people that has come in all kinds of forms. All this in addition to currently having raised $1,955 for the students of San Lorenzo High. I believe those funds, and the additional money that comes in, will have a significant impact on the ability of the club to continue, and I am thankful to all of those who have contributed so far. There are lots of names of donors who I have yet to meet, and if you donated, reach out to me and pick a state that I can write you a thank you postcard from.

And with that, it's far past when I should go to bed. We ride at dawn! Goodnight!

This is from my only test ride prior to the trip, which was less than 5 miles long...

133 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page